Focal point – Ministry of Culture

The Czech Republic gained access to funds from the European Economic Area (EEA) Financial Mechanism and the Norwegian Financial Mechanism by virtue of its accession to the EU in 2004. The amount allocated to the Czech Republic equals a total of 110.91 million for the five-year period from 2004 to 2009, of which 48.54 million is provided from the EEA Financial Mechanism and 62.37 million from the Norwegian Financial Mechanism.

Funds from the EEA FM/Norwegian FM are provided by three Member States of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) – Iceland, the Principality of Liechtenstein and the Kingdom of Norway. In addition, the Kingdom of Norway contributes through its own financial mechanism. The assistance is intended for economically weaker countries within the European Economic Area through grants for investment and development projects in the priority sectors listed in Annex A to the Memorandum of Understanding on the Implementation of the EEA Financial Mechanism 2009 and the Memorandum of Understanding on the Implementation of the Norwegian Financial Mechanism for the period 2004 to 2009 (Conservation of European Cultural Heritage, Protection of the Environment, Human Resources Development, Health and Childcare, Promotion of Sustainable Development, Academic Research and Development, Implementation of the Schengen Acquis, Strengthening the Judiciary and Technical Assistance).

The Ministry of Culture, the Department of Conservation of Movable Cultural Heritage, Museums and Galleries is the central Focal Point (FP) for the receipt and assessment of the EEA FM/Norwegian FM projects within priority sector No. 1: Conservation of European Cultural Heritage. The orientation of the priority sector corresponds to the fulfilment of the relevant sectoral strategy objectives as defined in the Cultural Policy of the Czech Republic, Strategy of Improved Care for Movable Cultural Heritage in the Czech Republic for the years 2003 to 2008, Strategy of Improved Care for the Monument Fund in the Czech Republic to 2005 and the Strategy of Library Development.

Public administration institutions – the central bodies of the government and the regions – act as the Focal Points (FPs); their competences and responsibilities include the following activities according to the Manual for Implementation of the EEA FM/Norwegian FM (the version of 18 May 2005), pp. 10 to 11:

  1. provision of information to potential applicants related to the individual calls for applications and set procedures;
  2. publishing information;
  3. receipt and registration of delivered grant applications;
  4. ensuring timely nomination of the evaluation committee and responsibility for observance of the set deadlines;
  1. assessment of applications for support for IP in terms of formal requisites and eligibility and in terms of the correctness and credibility of co-financing;
  2. drawing up the Evaluation Report on Results of Assessment forwarded together with the delivered applications to the National Focal Point (NFP).

The following Committees have been established pursuant to the Minister’s Orders No. 22/2005 (of 28 June 2005) and No. 24/2005 (of 10 August 2005) under Section 19 of the Organisational Rules of the Ministry of Culture:

Committee I for the assessment of the formal requisites of applications for funds within the EEA FM/Norwegian FM and Committee II for the assessment of the projects enclosed with the applications.

Focal Point – Ministry of Culture:

Member of the Monitoring Committee of the EEA FM/Norwegian FM: Ing. Jana Vohralíková (

Contact person: Daniela Stropnická (

The National Focal Point (NFP) is responsible for management of the EEA Financial Mechanism/Norwegian Financial Mechanism in the Czech Republic. In the management structure of the EEA FM/Norwegian FM at the national level, the Focal Points report to the NFP. The Ministry of Finance performs the duties of the National Focal Point (NFP) for programmes within the EEA Financial Mechanism/Norwegian Financial Mechanism in accordance with Resolution of the Government of the Czech Republic No. 242 of 17 March 2004.

Description of the management structure of the EEA FM/Norwegian FM is available at

The NFM provides information on its website, on the EEA FM/Norwegian FM in the following structure:

The Financial Mechanism Office (FMO) acts as the main focal point between the beneficiary countries and the providers of assistance and is responsible for the activities associated with co-ordination of assistance in all the beneficiary countries. The Financial Mechanism Office is based in Brussels.